Open slide 1 link
Dr. Thomas Vojta named Curators' Distinguished Professor at Missouri S&T
Open slide 2 link
Dr. Yew San Hor advises a student in his laboratory.
Open slide 3 link
Dr. Ulrich Jentschura lectures in physics classroom.
Open slide 4 link
Dr. Daniel Fischer receives CAREER Grant
Open slide 5 link
Medvedeva leads $1.6 million NSF grant to advance understanding of amorphous materials

Why physics? It's the world.

Department picture

The subject of physics is the entire world – from the smallest elementary particle to the universe itself, and everything in between. To accomplish the ambitious task of studying physics, students will learn how to design and run experiments, develop theories and simulate nature on computers. To gain hands-on experience, all undergraduates are encouraged to work on a research project under faculty guidance. Critical thinking, problem-solving and programming are examples of the skills you'll learn here and are essential for many careers you might choose to pursue.

Department research

Magneto-Optical Trap

All graduate students in the department are actively involved in research done by faculty members. Students have a choice among theoretical, computational or experimental, fundamental or applied physics in the areas of astrophysics, atomic physics, and condensed matter physics. Many faculty members are engaged in research collaborations on and off campus and are well recognized nationally and internationally. Five faculty members are distinguished as American Physical Society (APS) fellows. Research efforts are supported by external funding agencies and industrial partners.


Missouri S&T researchers help discover "black neutron star" that changes astronomy

Two physics faculty involved in $1.96 million NSF award for supercomputer

Physics Program at Missouri University of Science and Technology Is a 2019 Best Value in College Factual Rankings!

Also, visit us on facebook


May 7: Fuller Prize Competition for Undergraduate Research - Virtual Poster Presentation