Department of Physics welcomes new postdocs

Dr. Luigi Bagolini (left) comes to us from Rome, Italy, and will be working with Prof. Julia Medvedeva. Dr. Martin Puschmann (right) from Chemnitz, Germany, will be working with Prof. Thomas Vojta. We wish them a wonderful and productive time here in Rolla.

Dr. Julia Medvedeva receives The Faculty Excellence Award!

Dr. Julia Medvedeva, professor of physics, was among 4 faculty members at Missouri S&T who were honored with the Faculty Excellence Award on Feb. 13th.   The award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated sustained excellence teaching, research, and service  and carries a monetary stipend funded by industry and alumni contributions. Congratulations!

Congratulations to Schearer Prize winners


Basu Lamichhane (right), Chandra Adhikari (center), and Ahmed Ibrahim (left), Ph.D. students in physics, are winners of this year’s Schearer Prize, the Missouri S&T Physics Department’s annual graduate research competition. It is held in memory of Laird D. Schearer, the department’s first Curators' Professor of Physics, and rewards graduate students for outstanding research performed during the course of their graduate study.

Basu Lamichhane won first place for his fully differential study of capture with vibrational dissociation in p+H2 collisions. Chandra Adhikari won second place for his work on long-range interaction of hydrogen atoms and oscillatory tails. Ahmed Ibrahim won third place for his Monte Carlo simulations of the disordered three-color quantum Ashkin-Teller model. Congratulations!